Which language app fits you?
Choose the language, what you want it for, and how much you will pay. The shortlist below is every app in the dataset that teaches that language and fits the job, sorted by price per month at annual billing, with the reason each one is there. Nothing is ranked by opinion or by commission.
Pick a language app
14 of 24 apps teach Spanish and fit speaking and conversation.Sorted by price per month at annual billing; tutor marketplaces follow with their per-lesson range.
| App | Per month, annual | Monthly plan | Free tier | Speech | Tutor | CEFR stated | Why it is here |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TandemLanguage exchange | $3.33 | not published | Free account with many features; Tandem Pro unlocks the rest | No | No | not stated |
|
| MemriseVocabulary and flashcards | $5.17 | $24.99 | Limited free version of the app; the paid plan unlocks the rest. | Yes | Not stated | not stated |
|
| HelloTalkLanguage exchange | $6.67 | $12.99 | Free account with ads and daily limits (for example ten translations a day); occasional randomly offered 3-day VIP trials | Yes | No | not stated |
|
| LingvistVocabulary and flashcards | $6.67 | $9.99 | Free level placement before subscribing, and a 14-day free trial on the annual plan; the monthly plan has no trial | Yes | No | not stated |
|
| SpeakAI conversation practice | $7 | $17.99 | 7-day free trial; no permanently free tier is published | Yes | No | not stated |
|
| BabbelCourse app | $8.95 | $17.99 | Free account; the first lesson of every course is free, and up to 80 free lessons depending on the language. | Yes | Not stated | A1 to C1 |
|
| LingCourse app | $12.50 | $16.99 | Free tier with limited lessons and limited dialogue practice, with ads | Yes | Ling Live Online Tutor | not stated |
|
| Rosetta StoneCourse app | $13.25 | $19.99 | Free sample lessons from the site (TRY A LESSON); no ongoing free plan is described on the pricing page. | Yes | Tutoring | not stated |
|
| PimsleurAudio course | $13.75 | $19.95 | No | Yes | Not stated | not stated |
|
| LingopieImmersion (video, reading) | $13.98 | not published | No | Not stated | Lingopie Lessons | not stated |
|
| FluentUImmersion (video, reading) | $20 | $29.99 | No | Yes | Group classes (select languages) | not stated |
|
| PreplyTutor marketplace | $3 to $50 per lesson | sold differently | No | Not stated | Preply (the whole product is 1-to-1 tutoring) | not stated |
|
| LingodaTutor marketplace | From €54.99 (Group classes, 4 classes) | sold differently | Not stated | Not stated | Group classes and Private classes | not stated |
|
| italkiTutor marketplace | not published | not published | No | Not stated | italki (the whole product is 1-on-1 lessons; Group Class also sold) | not stated |
|
Nothing fits every choice.
What the shortlist is built from
24 apps and tutor marketplaces, 90 published plans (76 with a price, the rest marked "not published"), 359 languages, 17 apps with a free tier and 8 with live tutoring. Every price was read from the vendor's own page between 2026-09-06 and 2026-09-06 and is shown with that date.
The goal you pick decides which apps qualify and which facts are shown as the reason; it never scores them. Price per month at annual billing sorts the list because that is what most people end up paying. Tutor marketplaces cannot be priced per month, so they follow with their published per-lesson range.
Where to go from here
- Every app in one sortable, filterable table
- Babbel vs Duolingo: which one fits you
- Duolingo vs Rosetta Stone: a comparison from the price lists
- Busuu vs Duolingo: which fits you
- Memrise vs Duolingo: vocabulary app against course app
- All head-to-head comparisons
- Best app to learn Spanish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Which apps teach which language
- How to choose a language app and free vs paid: what you actually get
Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
Questions people ask
How is the shortlist ordered?
By published price per month at annual billing, cheapest first, with apps that publish no subscription price last and tutor marketplaces in their own band with their per-lesson range. The goal you choose decides which apps qualify and which facts are shown as the reason; it never scores or reorders them. Commercial relationships have no access to the ordering code.
Why is a well-known app missing from my shortlist?
Because its vendor does not state the thing the goal needs. "Speaking and conversation" admits apps that state speech recognition, live tutoring, or exchange with native speakers; an app whose page says nothing about any of those is left out and counted in the "not shown" line under the table. Switch the goal, or open the app's page to see exactly what it does state.
Where do the prices come from and how old are they?
From each vendor's own pricing page or app-store listing, as shown to a visitor in the United States, on the date printed beside every figure. Prices are re-read by hand; the data status turns stale after ninety days and the health endpoint says so. The dataset with every source is downloadable.