Head to head

Busuu vs Duolingo: which fits you

Both apps run a free tier and a paid one. The difference is what the paid tier is for. Busuu sells a course per language with a published annual price, corrections from native speakers and offline mode. Duolingo sells the removal of ads and limits, at a price it publishes only inside the app.

Prices and features read from Busuu's and Duolingo's own pages; newest read 2026-09-06. Verdicts are per kind of learner, never an overall winner.

Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.

Side by side

As publishedBusuuDuolingo
CEFR levels statednot statedA1 to B2
What it isCourse app: Course app with corrections from native speakers and CEFR-labelled levelsCourse app: Gamified free lessons; paid tiers remove ads and add practice features
Per month at annual billing$6.08/mo ($72.99 a year)not published
Monthly plannot publishednot published
Lifetime plannonenone
Free tierFree account with limited features; paid tiers remove ads and add review tools.Full free tier with ads and limits; paid tiers remove ads and limits.
Languages offered1440
Speech recognitionNot statedNot stated
Live tutoringNot statedNo
Offline modeYesNot stated
Placement testNot statedNot stated
Refund or trialnot stated1 week free trial on Super
PlatformsiOS, Android, WebiOS, Android, Web
CompanyBusuu Limited, United KingdomDuolingo, Inc

Which one, for whom

You want feedback from a person, not a score

Busuu

Busuu's community corrections are the feature Duolingo does not have: you write or record something and a native speaker marks it. Busuu Premium for 12 months was $72.99 on the read date, which is $6.08 a month for one language; Premium Plus, which adds AI conversations and pronunciation practice, was $87.90, or $7.33 a month. Both were shown as sale prices against a struck-through reference equal to twelve months at the monthly rate. The monthly plan's price is not present in the served page, so it is recorded as not published.

You want to learn two or more languages

Duolingo, or check Busuu's per-language terms

Busuu's published annual price covers one language. Duolingo's free tier covers every course it has. If you are splitting time between, say, Spanish and Italian, that changes the arithmetic: two Busuu Premium subscriptions is two prices, one Duolingo account is none.

You want a stated level to aim at

Busuu

Busuu labels its courses with CEFR levels; the range it states is on its page here and on its site. Duolingo does not state a CEFR range. If you are working toward a certificate, a course that names its levels is easier to plan around.

You want it free and you want it fun

Duolingo

Busuu's free account is limited in features; Duolingo's free tier is the whole course set with ads. For a learner who will not pay, Duolingo gives more, and its streak mechanics are the reason it is the biggest app in the category.

Every published plan

Busuu

PlanBillingPricePer monthCovers
Premium, 12 monthsPremiumSale price. The struck-through $149.88 equals 12 months at Busuu's monthly rate; no separate regular annual price is shown.Annual$72.99$6.08/moone language
Premium Plus, 12 monthsPremium PlusSale price shown against a struck-through $178.80 reference; adds AI Conversations, pronunciation practice and exclusive content over Premium.Annual$87.90$7.33/moone language
1 monthPremiumThe plans page has a '1 month' tab, but its prices are not present in the served page. For reference, Apple's US App Store listing for Busuu shows an in-app purchase named 'Monthly Premium Plan' at $23.49, which the listing does not tie to a named web tier.Monthlynot publishednot publishedone languagethe 1-month tab on the pricing page loads its prices only after a click and the fetched page contains no monthly figure

Current prices on Busuu

Duolingo

PlanBillingPricePer monthCovers
FreeThe comparison table lists the free tier alongside Super and Super Family; the row markers for which features each tier includes are images, not text.Other$0$0/moall languages
Super DuolingoSuperApple's US App Store listing shows Super Duolingo in-app purchases at $9.99, $12.99, $79.99, $83.99, $95.99 and $119.99, but does not say which figure is monthly, annual or Family, so no price is recorded here.Othernot publishednot publishedall languagesDuolingo publishes no price on its website; the Super page shows only a 'Start my 1 week free' call to action and prices appear at checkout or in the app
Super FamilyTier and seat count are published; the price is not.Familynot publishednot publishedfamily up to 6no price for the Family plan is shown anywhere on duolingo.com; the plan page shows only a free-trial call to action
Duolingo MaxMaxMax is sold only inside the iOS and Android apps, so no web price exists to read; Apple's US listing did not show a Max in-app purchase in the ten entries it displays.Othernot publishednot publishedall languagesDuolingo Max is only purchasable in the mobile apps and no price is published on duolingo.com

Current prices on Duolingo

Per month is the plan price divided by its term. Sources and read dates for every row are on each app's page: Busuu, Duolingo.

Questions people ask

Is Busuu better than Duolingo?

For a learner who wants corrections from native speakers, offline mode and a course with named CEFR levels, Busuu states more. For a learner who wants a free daily habit across several languages, Duolingo gives more for nothing. Neither is better overall.

How much is Busuu compared with Duolingo?

On the read date Busuu Premium was $72.99 for 12 months ($6.08 a month) and Premium Plus $87.90 ($7.33 a month), each for one language. Duolingo is free with ads; its paid tier prices are not published on the web.

Does Busuu have a free version?

Yes. Busuu describes a free account with limited features; paid tiers remove ads and add review tools.

Related comparisons