Course app
Duolingo
Gamified free lessons; paid tiers remove ads and add practice features. Gamified course app of short exercise-based lessons, with a free ad-supported tier and paid tiers that remove limits and add AI practice.
No subscription price is published on a page we could read.
Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
Published plans
Every consumer plan on Duolingo's own pricing page or app-store listing on the read date, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term; promotions are noted, never used for the figure.
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FreeThe comparison table lists the free tier alongside Super and Super Family; the row markers for which features each tier includes are images, not text. | Other | $0 | $0/mo | all languages | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Super DuolingoSuperApple's US App Store listing shows Super Duolingo in-app purchases at $9.99, $12.99, $79.99, $83.99, $95.99 and $119.99, but does not say which figure is monthly, annual or Family, so no price is recorded here. | Other | not published | not published | all languagesDuolingo publishes no price on its website; the Super page shows only a 'Start my 1 week free' call to action and prices appear at checkout or in the app | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Super FamilyTier and seat count are published; the price is not. | Family | not published | not published | family up to 6no price for the Family plan is shown anywhere on duolingo.com; the plan page shows only a free-trial call to action | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Duolingo MaxMaxMax is sold only inside the iOS and Android apps, so no web price exists to read; Apple's US listing did not show a Max in-app purchase in the ten entries it displays. | Other | not published | not published | all languagesDuolingo Max is only purchasable in the mobile apps and no price is published on duolingo.com | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
See current prices on Duolingo's site
What Duolingo publishes about itself
| Fact | As published | Source |
|---|---|---|
| CEFR levels stated | A1 to B2 (vendor states its biggest courses (e.g. Spanish, French for English speakers) teach through B2, and other courses vary from A1 to B2) | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| What it is | Course app. Gamified course app of short exercise-based lessons, with a free ad-supported tier and paid tiers that remove limits and add AI practice. | none |
| Languages offered | 40: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Haitian Creole, Hawaiian, Hebrew, High Valyrian, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Klingon, Korean, Latin, Navajo, Norwegian (Bokmål), Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Scottish Gaelic, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, Welsh, Yiddish, Zulu | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Free tier | Full free tier with ads and limits; paid tiers remove ads and limits. | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Offline mode | Not stated | none |
| Speech recognition | Not stated | none |
| Live tutoring | No | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Placement test | Not stated | none |
| Refund or trial | 1 week free trial on Super | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Company | Duolingo, Inc | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
Languages you can learn on Duolingo
40 languages as listed by Duolingo.
Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Haitian Creole, Hawaiian, Hebrew, High Valyrian, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Klingon, Korean, Latin, Navajo, Norwegian (Bokmål), Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Scottish Gaelic, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, Welsh, Yiddish, Zulu
Compare Duolingo
- Babbel vs Duolingo: which one fits you
- Duolingo vs Rosetta Stone: a comparison from the price lists
- Busuu vs Duolingo: which fits you
- Memrise vs Duolingo: vocabulary app against course app
- Best app to learn Spanish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best free app to learn Spanish: what exactly is free on each one
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Italian: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Japanese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Korean: every app that teaches it, compared
- All apps in one sortable table
Affiliate programme and how this page links out
No affiliate programme was found for Duolingo on its own site or on the affiliate networks checked on 2026-09-06. Links on this page are plain links and earn nothing.
Sources
- https://www.duolingo.com/super (read 2026-09-06)
- https://www.duolingo.com/help/what-is-duolingo-max (read 2026-09-06)
- https://www.duolingo.com/courses (read 2026-09-06)
- https://itunes.apple.com/search?term=duolingo&entity=software&country=us (read 2026-09-06)
- https://blog.duolingo.com/goldilocks-and-the-cefr-levels-which-proficiency-level-is-just-right/ (read 2026-09-06)
- https://gpn.duolingo.com/ (read 2026-09-06)