Head to head

Babbel vs Rosetta Stone: two paid courses, two methods

Two paid course apps that publish their prices, which makes this the cleanest comparison on the site. Babbel teaches with dialogues and grammar notes in English. Rosetta Stone teaches by immersion, without translation. The price gap is real but not large; the method gap is the decision.

Prices and features read from Babbel's and Rosetta Stone's own pages; newest read 2026-09-06. Verdicts are per kind of learner, never an overall winner.

Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.

Side by side

As publishedBabbelRosetta Stone
CEFR levels statedA1 to C1not stated
What it isCourse app: Short structured lessons with grammar notes and review sessionsCourse app: Immersion-style lessons without translation, with speech scoring
Per month at annual billing$8.95/mo ($107.40 a year)$13.25/mo ($159 a year)
Monthly plan$17.99$19.99
Lifetime plan$299.99 one-timenone
Free tierFree account; the first lesson of every course is free, and up to 80 free lessons depending on the language.Free sample lessons from the site (TRY A LESSON); no ongoing free plan is described on the pricing page.
Languages offered1425
Speech recognitionYesYes
Live tutoringNot statedTutoring
Offline modeNot statedYes
Placement testNot statedNot stated
Refund or trialnot stated14-day money-back guarantee
PlatformsiOS, Android, WebiOS, Android
CompanyBabbel GmbH (Lesson Nine GmbH), GermanyRosetta Stone LLC (a division of IXL Learning)

Which one, for whom

You want grammar explained and a lower price

Babbel

Babbel's 12-month plan was $107.40 on the read date, which is $8.95 a month for all 14 languages, against Rosetta Stone's yearly plan at $159, or $13.25 a month for 25 languages. Babbel's lessons explain the grammar in English as you go; Rosetta Stone's do not, by design. If you have been frustrated by an app that never told you why the verb changed, Babbel is the one that tells you.

You want immersion, offline study and a money-back guarantee

Rosetta Stone

Rosetta Stone states offline mode, a tutoring product and a 14-day money-back guarantee; Babbel's pages state none of those three, and Babbel Live returned a 404 on the read date. If you study without a connection or want an exit if the method does not suit you, Rosetta Stone publishes the terms that make that safe.

You want one purchase and no renewals

Babbel Lifetime, with a caveat

Babbel lists a Lifetime plan at $299.99 (a promotional $199 banner was showing on the read date); Rosetta Stone's pricing page showed no lifetime plan. A lifetime plan is only cheap if you use it for years, so it suits someone learning a second and third language, not someone with one trip in mind.

You want to speak from the first week

Either; both state speech recognition

Both vendors state speech recognition. Rosetta Stone adds tutoring for practice with a person. If speaking is the whole point, the tutoring product tips it to Rosetta Stone, or to a per-lesson marketplace where a tutor is the product.

Every published plan

Babbel

PlanBillingPricePer monthCovers
12 monthsMarked 'Save 50%'. The struck-through $215.40 is a reference price the page defines as the total cost of a recurring 1-month subscription over the same period, not a regular annual price. Apple's US listing shows a matching in-app purchase, All Languages - 12-month plan $107.99.Annual$107.40$8.95/moall languages
3-month plan (iOS in-app purchase)In-app purchase price from Apple's US App Store listing; the per-language SKU was read for Spanish.Every 3 months$45.99$15.33/moone language
1-month plan (iOS in-app purchase)babbel.com/prices shows only the 12-month and Lifetime plans; the other durations sit behind a 'Show all plans' control and their prices are not present in the served page, so this figure comes from Apple's US App Store in-app purchase list.Monthly$17.99$17.99/moone language
LifetimeA banner on the same page offered Lifetime at a promotional $199 today: 'Labor Day Sale! Get Lifetime for $199'.Lifetime$299.99one-timeall languages

Current prices on Babbel

Rosetta Stone

PlanBillingPricePer monthCovers
YearlyPage labels this SAVE 33% against the monthly plan; no separate regular annual price is shown.Annual$159$13.25/moall languages
MonthlySubscription includes access to all 25 languages.Monthly$19.99$19.99/moall languages

Current prices on Rosetta Stone

Per month is the plan price divided by its term. Sources and read dates for every row are on each app's page: Babbel, Rosetta Stone.

Questions people ask

Which is cheaper, Babbel or Rosetta Stone?

Babbel, on the read date: $8.95 a month at annual billing ($107.40 a year) against Rosetta Stone's $13.25 a month at annual billing ($159 a year). Both figures come from the vendors' own pricing pages.

Does Rosetta Stone teach grammar?

Its method is immersion without translation, and its pages do not describe grammar explanations in English. Babbel's lessons include grammar notes. That difference, not the price, is usually what decides between them.

Which one has a refund policy?

Rosetta Stone states a 14-day money-back guarantee. No money-back guarantee was stated on any Babbel page read; Babbel's free first lessons serve as the trial.

Related comparisons