Immersion (video, reading)

FluentU

Real-world videos with interactive captions and quizzes. Video-based learning platform: authentic clips with clickable interactive captions, a word dictionary, quizzes and spaced-repetition flashcards, plus an AI speaking tutor.

The cheapest published subscription works out to $20/mo (Plus (billed yearly), $239.99); the monthly plan is $29.99.

Figures read from FluentU's own pages; newest read 2026-09-06. Nothing on this page is a test or a rating.

10 languagesNo free tierSpeech recognitionLive tutoring: Group classes (select languages)Offline modenot stated

Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.

Published plans

Every consumer plan on FluentU's own pricing page or app-store listing on the read date, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term; promotions are noted, never used for the figure.

PlanBillingPricePer monthCoversSource
Plus (billed yearly)Plus$239.99 is the regular yearly price, shown struck through. The Back to School sale price on the day of reading was $143.99 charged yearly, quoted on the page as $11.99 per month, a 40% discount.Annual$239.99$20/moall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Plus (monthly)PlusThe page's own analytics payload records the monthly plan at 29.99 with a 0% discount, so this is the regular monthly price despite the site-wide sale banner.Monthly$29.99$29.99/moall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Super (monthly)SuperSuper is the higher tier; the page describes it as everything in Plus with much higher daily AI Tutor limits.Monthly$39.99$39.99/moall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Super (billed yearly)Super$479.99 is the regular yearly price, shown struck through. The sale price on the day of reading was $199.99 charged yearly, quoted on the page as $16.66 per month, a 58% discount.Annual$479.99$40/moall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06

See current prices on FluentU's site (opens the vendor; prices can change after the read date)

What FluentU publishes about itself

Facts about FluentU, each with the vendor page it was read from and the date
FactAs publishedSource
CEFR levels statednot statednone
What it isImmersion (video, reading). Video-based learning platform: authentic clips with clickable interactive captions, a word dictionary, quizzes and spaced-repetition flashcards, plus an AI speaking tutor.none
Languages offered10: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin Chinese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanishvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Free tierNonevendor pageread 2026-09-06
PlatformsiOS, Android, Webvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Offline modeYesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Speech recognitionYesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Live tutoringGroup classes (select languages) (Included with the subscription and described as free for a limited time; no separate price is published, and these are group classes rather than 1-to-1 tutoring.)vendor pageread 2026-09-06
Placement testNot statednone
Refund or trial14-day free trial with no payment up front, plus a 20-day money-back guaranteevendor pageread 2026-09-06
CompanyEnux Education Limited, Hong Kong, founded 2011vendor pageread 2026-09-06

Languages you can learn on FluentU

10 languages as listed by FluentU.

English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin Chinese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish

Compare FluentU

Affiliate programme and how this page links out

FluentU runs an affiliate programme through Refersion, published as "Commissions are for 20% of the lifetime of a user", 30-day cookie. This site has not joined it: the links on this page are plain, untracked links to FluentU, and they would stay in the same place, in the same order, if that changed. Source: programme page, read 2026-09-06.

Sources

Wrong or out of date? Write to contact with the vendor page that shows the correct value.