Language exchange

HelloTalk

Chat and call with native speakers; the paid tier lifts limits. Language exchange app: you chat by text, voice and video with native speakers who are learning your language, with in-chat translation and correction tools.

The cheapest published subscription works out to $6.67/mo (VIP Membership Yearly, $79.99); the monthly plan is $12.99.

Figures read from HelloTalk's own pages; newest read 2026-09-06. Nothing on this page is a test or a rating.

260 languagesFree tierSpeech recognitionNo live tutoringOffline modenot stated

Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.

Published plans

Every consumer plan on HelloTalk's own pricing page or app-store listing on the read date, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term; promotions are noted, never used for the figure.

PlanBillingPricePer monthCoversSource
Free accountFreeThe free account carries ads and daily limits; the FAQ notes non-VIP translation is capped at 10 uses a day.Other$0$0/moall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
VIP Membership YearlyVIPUS App Store in-app purchase price; HelloTalk's own site publishes no prices.Annual$79.99$6.67/moall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
VIP Membership MonthlyVIPHelloTalk publishes no prices on hellotalk.com; the FAQ points buyers to the in-app VIP Store. This is the US App Store in-app purchase price.Monthly$12.99$12.99/moall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Lifetime VIPLifetimeA Lifetime VIP tier exists (blue VIP badge) but is arranged through a customer-service form.Lifetimenot publishedone-timeall languagesno price published: the Lifetime VIP upgrade is handled by a support form and the figure is not shown on the site or in the App Store in-app purchase listvendor pageread 2026-09-06
VIP PlusA higher VIP Plus tier exists; the FAQ sends readers to the in-app VIP Store rather than publishing a figure.Othernot publishednot publishedall languagesprice shown only in the in-app VIP Store, which requires an accountvendor pageread 2026-09-06

See current prices on HelloTalk's site (opens the vendor; prices can change after the read date)

What HelloTalk publishes about itself

Facts about HelloTalk, each with the vendor page it was read from and the date
FactAs publishedSource
CEFR levels statednot stated (not stated by the vendor)noneread 2026-09-06
What it isLanguage exchange. Language exchange app: you chat by text, voice and video with native speakers who are learning your language, with in-chat translation and correction tools.none
Languages offered260: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Thai, Turkishvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Free tierFree account with ads and daily limits (for example ten translations a day); occasional randomly offered 3-day VIP trialsvendor pageread 2026-09-06
PlatformsiOS, Android, Webvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Offline modeYesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Speech recognitionYesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Live tutoringNovendor pageread 2026-09-06
Placement testNot statednone
Refund or trialOccasional randomly offered 3-day free VIP trial; refunds handled by Apple or Google for in-app purchasesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
CompanyHelloTalk, Inc., founded 2012vendor pageread 2026-09-06

Languages you can learn on HelloTalk

HelloTalk states 260 languages; the 14 below are the ones enumerated on its pages.

Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Thai, Turkish

Compare HelloTalk

Affiliate programme and how this page links out

No affiliate programme was found for HelloTalk on its own site or on the affiliate networks checked on 2026-09-06. Links on this page are plain links and earn nothing.

Sources

Wrong or out of date? Write to contact with the vendor page that shows the correct value.